Interior Options

Status
Not open for further replies.

79BuWagon

Not-quite-so-new-guy
May 15, 2009
Vancouver Wa
Newbie here . First id like to express how glad I am to have found this site . Up till now I havent found much info on these cars . My questions today deal with interior options . Can anyone tell me if GM ever had a bucket seat option for these wagons ? Also maybe a consol or consol/floor shift option . If not , is it possible that others models in this line up had them and would they be a bolt in or a fairly simple install . Also thinking about the seat belts and anchor locations . Would they be different ? Lastly , same info needed on steering wheels . My goal for this wagon is to make changes that have a possible factory produced look to them . Thanks in advance for all info and ideas .

GP403

Administrator
Site Admin
Feb 25, 2005
Rolla, MO
welcome to the site! Yeah, the wagons could be had with buckets and console/floor shifters. Everything for those should be shared with the 2 drs, but the seat belt setup might be shared with the 4drs....

Wants_a_wagon

Greasemonkey
May 14, 2009
GP403 said:
welcome to the site! Yeah, the wagons could be had with buckets and console/floor shifters. Everything for those should be shared with the 2 drs, but the seat belt setup might be shared with the 4drs....

Your GP looks almost exactly like the one I had, which brings me on topic -- I remember the bucket seats being a bit dodgy.

What I mean by that is that my GP had blue buckets. The driver's side had a no-recline back. I am a tall guy, and in my opinion, the angle was not comfortable. You can switch the passenger seat with the driver's seat, but without also switching the under-seat mechanisms, you'll slowly destroy your plastic chrome trim on the reclining seat. This is because the alignment of the seat is pushed out an inch or two toward the side of the car, interfering with the seat belt anchor.