o2 sensor wiring (first post)

Status
Not open for further replies.

oldscutlasswagon

Apprentice
Dec 13, 2016
Hello everybody, I am new to the forum and am excited to be a part of this online community. I am fairly new to GM cars in general, however I am not new to cars by any means. I also have a pretty heavily modified 1969 Mustang and have a decent amount of experience working on a lot of types of cars. I am the proud owner of a 1982 Cutlass Cruiser and have already done the s10 brake swap with stainless lines, changed the front and rear springs (slightly stiffer up front and CC's in back), and I am still catching up on fixing some of the things that were wrong with the car when I inherited it (thank you grandma!). She isn't a lot to look at and she has some rust but I am ok with a car that doesn't look perfect. After some of the issues are sorted out I will definitely install a rear sway bar as the body roll is still pretty bad after the stiffer springs and poly endlinks and bushings up front.

I have the car driving pretty damn well and have had the factory electronic carb rebuilt. I recently had the alignment done, and shortly after I got a check engine light. I used the testing process to get a code 13 for the o2 sensor. This was definitely the problem as the harness side of the connector was ripped from the harness wiring. This is one of many reasons I never trust shops and expect they will mess something up. The control arm shaft cover is right by this and I am sure the shop broke the wire. Here is where I feel stupid.