Opinions on My "New" Truck Project

Status
Not open for further replies.
Nov 4, 2012
So I finally bought a truck I've been lusting after for 8 or 9 years from my neighbor. It's a 1995 F150 4x4 5 speed, 302. Extended Cab Long Bed. Turquoise and White on Gray interior. I've wanted to buy this truck a longggg time. He was very upfront with me when I bought it, saying he thought it was rusted beyond repair and I only paid $300 for it. It runs and drives, and everything works, AC, power windows and locks, radio, and all.

Well I guess I got a bit overexcited after finally convincing my neighbor to sell it to me after close to 10 years, because I found out today after dropping the truck off at a frame welding shop to be checked over that it likely needs the cab and frame replaced to be properly repaired. The guy at the frame shop said it would probably be alright to drive around for a little, but he didn't want to take on the job as he didn't want to open a can of worms.

So now that I'm getting over the disappointment, I'm considering my options. The way I see it, I've got a few options-

1. Buy a cab and frame and swap the rest of the truck over. Only this is very time and labor intensive, and I don't really have the resources to do this right now.

2. Sell the truck outright and probably make a little money (also crush my heart).

3. Get a shady mechanic to throw inspection stickers on it (I'm in PA, and the truck is currently out of inspection), patch up what I can, and drive it until I can afford to fix it properly.

I'm refusing to part out or scrap the truck as I like it way to much to let it become a parts vehicle. I have another vehicle to drive so the truck isn't my main mode of transportation. I'm most considering option #3 right now. If anyone else has a better idea or maybe knows someone who'd be willing to weld up the frame and the cab, please let me know. I've attached some pictures for your viewing pleasure.

IMG_0273.JPG

IMG_0278.JPG

IMG_0274.JPG