Oversteer help

Status
Not open for further replies.

ReQ

Apprentice
Jan 15, 2012
Hello

I have an 84 Cutless Supreme circle track car, freshly built for a 1/4 mile 12 degree banked asphalt track, this is my first time dealing with a metric car of any kind on a racetrack, or a RWD for that matter, so it has a few set-up issues keeping me on my toes in a bad way

the car must weight 3400lbs 545 left side, unfortunately I do not know how much it currently weighs, the season has yet to start for this year and the car has never been races, only test laps thus far and i have no access to scales, I know this would be very valuable information, my question probably cannot be answered without it :roll: but maybe an educated guess could be given?

that question is basically, springs and shocks for the rear, it has new but factory shocks, and springs that are WAY too stiff, came from the front of an 89 4WD ford F150, cut down to about 8 3/4", must have a 6" ride height but its currently about 4 1/2" but they never seem to be too picky about ride height, tire size is 215/70-15 (required tire size is 70 or 75 series only) with 8" wheels

the problem I am pretty sure is simply spring rate and shocks that cant keep up, no pun intended, it has terrible over-steer and as soon as I lift off the gas, no matter how I do this to enter the turn, the back tried to pass the front and I fight it all the way through the turn, cannot even think about more than 1/4 throttle until the car has settled and is straight, watching a much more experienced driver manhandle my car around the track, I noticed some scarey things about the rear