Pilot bushing for factory 4 speed

Diablo1979

Not-quite-so-new-guy
Jul 23, 2023
Hello everyone I’m new to this and am very impressed with everything associated with this! Here’s what I got going on… I have a 1979 GMC CABALLERO DIABLO, 350ci TH350 trans. I have everything to do a correct factory 4 speed swap in the Diablo. I just had a couple questions…

First, would anybody know what size pilot bushing/bearing I’ll need for the back of the crank?

Second, would anybody know if Hurst web site has the correct Hurst shifter shaft that would have come in the factory 4 speed G bodys?

Iv also heard that 1978 was the only year the Hurst shifter was factory but I believe it’s the same for all… thanks in advance for any advice much appreciated!

Brent… C2FAD992-4652-4386-A791-723C1A50D3F5.jpeg 1C5A5D23-0D1A-4DD1-980D-35590C8D4B3B.jpeg

Last edited:

pagrunt

Geezer
Sep 14, 2014
Elderton, Pa
Hello everyone I’m new to this and am very impressed with everything associated with this! Here’s what I got going on… I have a 1979 GMC CABALLERO DIABLO, 350ci TH350 trans. I have everything to do a correct factory 4 speed swap in the Diablo. I just had a couple questions…

First, would anybody know what size pilot bushing/bearing I’ll need for the back of the crank?

Second, would anybody know if Hurst web site has the correct Hurst shifter shaft that would have come in the factory 4 speed G bodys?

Iv also heard that 1978 was the only year the Hurst shifter was factory but I believe it’s the same for all… thanks in advance for any advice much appreciated!

Brent… View attachment 226272 View attachment 226270
Just look up the pilot bushing for a Chevy V8/90 deg V6/straight 6. As for the shifter lever Hurst won't have the "bayonet" style the OE is.

Reactions: 1 user

pagrunt

Geezer
Sep 14, 2014
Elderton, Pa

Iv also heard that 1978 was the only year the Hurst shifter was factory but I believe it’s the same for all…