Schwartz Perf chassis under a Monte SS

Status
Not open for further replies.

pontiacgp

blank
Mar 31, 2006
Kitchener, Ontario
I'm wondering if you have put your car on a set of scales yet and what camber settings do you have? On those flat tracks I think a larger front bar would help. When we raced the G body on a track with little banking we'd use a 1200 lbs spring on the right front cause we had to run a stock bar but you wouldn't want to drive that on the street.

Howebad

Not-quite-so-new-guy
Jul 4, 2012
pontiacgp said:
I'm wondering if you have put your car on a set of scales yet and what camber settings do you have? On those flat tracks I think a larger front bar would help. When we raced the G body on a track with little banking we'd use a 1200 lbs spring on the right front cause we had to run a stock bar but you wouldn't want to drive that on the street.

I have not scaled it yet, but it's in the works. I have a 1/2 degree camber for the street and Jeff said 1* for the autocross or track. It has a splined sway bar that I have no specs on and the front coilovers are single adjustable Ridetechs with 450 lb. springs. I had the shocks set at 12 out of 24 to start. Jeff suggested stiffing the front 5 clicks. He also had me raise the tire perssure. This made a world of difference on the track but on the street it was very harsh compared to 12. With this adjustment it's for compression only. Also keep in mind that none of this chassis or suspension is stock g body. The pickup points, a-arms, spindles, sway bars and triangulated 4 link is all Schwartz made. That's way I was ask more times than I can recall what I did to this Monte to make it handle.

Anyone that does not know Jeff Schwartz should check out his racing history. This man knows his stuff and I will not second guess him.

Howebad

Not-quite-so-new-guy
Jul 4, 2012