The Flat Rate System Woes

Status
Not open for further replies.

theoldsone

G-Body Guru
Dec 26, 2014
I'm a student at pursuing a degree in industrial design and working at a shop, its what get the bills payed for now. So I thought I make a thread letting anyone know what the system looks like from the inside, and bring up the good and the bad of it all so others can get a glimpse of what we go through every day at work before they decide to step in the door.
Anybody here on the forum work Flat rate or had at some time? How does/did it work out for you? IMO it's a double edged sword.

clean8485

Comic Book Super Hero
Dec 18, 2005
Ontario, Canada
I spent 16 years as a flat-rate mechanic. It got to the point where I couldn't afford to do it anymore. I get paid by the hour now, and I can tell you, its WAYY better.

Reactions: 1 user

pontiacgp

blank
Mar 31, 2006
Kitchener, Ontario
if you are doing piece work you make more money if you are quick enough and the rate is fair.

Last edited:

theoldsone

G-Body Guru
Dec 26, 2014
I just recently moved into the Flat Rate way. I can tell you right off the bat if the service writers can't manage jobs right forget it.

Ribbedroof

Comic Book Super Hero
Supporting Member
Jan 4, 2009
Wellston, OK
Body guy here, so flat rate(replacement) and judgement times (repairs).

IMO, the guys that have a tough time are the job-hoppers. If you're in a GOOD shop for very long, and you are a conscientious tech, you can make a good living. If you're lazy or a hack, well, things are not going to be good very long.

I spent 10 years in the first shop, and have been in this one close to 12 years. I feel fortunate that these were family operations, I don't know how guys can work for dealerships or the consolidators. We have had several techs that have left for these "great" offers, only to return looking for a job in a few months.