5.3l help

Status
Not open for further replies.

85GPLef41

Royal Smart Person
Nov 14, 2008
Colorado
I'm no expert but i thought the weak link was the connecting rod bolts? I've read that that it is a usual upgrade them to ARP or Katech if you plan on any upgrades. But i'm sure when you start adding boost then the factory parts start failing.. :mrgreen: damn i would be happy to get to 500hp 8)

masterfab

Not-quite-so-new-guy
Jan 24, 2013
the common misconception when it comes to boost in a engine is the fact that everyone think it as stressful as running nitrous or big compression N/A engines. I have boosted a lot of engine most of them being the ls engine 4.8l/5.3l/6.0l boost is easyer going on yur rotating assembley. Prooven fact.

how ever the ls engines do not like rpms when it comes to the stock rods and rod bolts. the rod bolt will fail 1st. the rod being second. theres a lot of playing factors when it comes to a ls engine and there h limites and tuning has everything to do with it. you can take a forged assembly in a ls engine and it will blow with no problems with a bad tune. be sure to spend some money on a quality tune on a dyno and you will be in better shape.

the way most people build a 5.3l on a budget for boost is to do the fallowing things.

Arp or katech rod bolts. I have arps in mine but katechs are better and the price shows it, lol.

piston ring gap, you need to widen your piston ring gap on both the top ring and the second ring.

head studs and ls9 head gaskets. head gasket run from $100-$115 and arp head stud are about $300-$350 and the are 2 different types. one has 3 different lengths and the other has 2. I depends on the year of the motor

the 5.3l was know for a head casting 862 that had a notch and would leak coolant because of the notch. some people have the notch welded then milled, while other just buy a different head all together..