Couldn't make up my mind, but finally made the decision.

Status
Not open for further replies.

87LS/88SS

Master Mechanic
Nov 12, 2008
Before I came out to Cali I found a 87 MC LS at a decent price. Being that I couldn't find one that was not too bad off I went ahead and purchased it.

DSC00224.jpg

All the chrome trim was there and mechanically it was great. It did however have a little bit of hail damage and some rust being a east coast car.

I came out to Cali and scored a set of 13x7 all chrome 100 spoke Daytons still in the box from the president of Dukes CC San Jose Chapter.

P1010674.jpg

P1010675.jpg

P1010676.jpg

Made in the USA 😀

I was contemplating lifting the LS, but since I don't paint cars or do body work by trade it was going to cost me a arm and a leg to have the work done. Right about that time I came across this.

P1010714.jpg

I picked it up just outside LA and sold the LS less than a week later.

P1010713.jpg

Super clean with low miles.

P1010724.jpg

Took care of a couple of little things like replace the heater core, heater core hoses, blower, and valve cover gaskets. After being under the hood a little bit I believe that the last owner let the car sit for a extended period of time. I wasn't happy about it, but what can you do.

I had picked up a fully wrapped frame from BMH back in November for the LS and decided it will go on to the 79. The frame was wrapped in 3/16th inch steel before the rear humps and 1/4th in steel out back. The front spring pockets, upper a-arm mounts, and rear spring towers (if thats what you call them) have been reinforced. Along with 5in drop upper trailing arm mounts for a higher lock-up in the rear. Here she is after I picked it up from the powder coater. Had it done in pearl black.

P1010780.jpg

My dumb *ss didn't think to snap some picks before we wrapped the frame to transport it.

P1010781.jpg