I think I'm done with Sears/Craftsman.

Status
Not open for further replies.

DRIVEN

Geezer
Apr 25, 2009
*CENSORED*
I've been buying Craftsman tools for over 20 years and really can't complain about the quality of the older stuff. But with regular use, they do wear out. My wife went to the mall yesterday so I sent one of my broken ratchets to have it exchanged. This one - http://www.sears.com/craftsman-3-8-in-d ... =39869:3:0 . She was told by the kid at the counter that it's no longer available then reached into a bin under the counter, that she saw was just full of random tools, and handed her this beat up POS.

I know it may not seem like a big deal but they did replace it with a refurbished, lesser quality tool. I went from a 45 tooth with an 8* swing to a 36 tooth with a 10* swing. They used to replace broken tools with new ones. Then the went to the free "repair kits" for a while. Now this refurbished BS. The last broken socket had to be "special ordered" and shipped to me because they refused to break up a set and were out of stock with singles. I think I'll just buy off the trucks from now on. Rant concluded.

L92 OLDS

Comic Book Super Hero
Mar 30, 2012
West Michigan
I haven't noticed a difference in quality over the years but I know what you mean about the refurbished POS tools they try to give you. I've replaced my 3/8 drive swivel head wrench with long handle at least 4 times mainly because I torque it too hard. 3 out of the 4 times this happened, they tried to give me a crappy used one with dings in the plastic handle. I just refuse to accept something of lesser quality and they give me a new one even if they have to ship one to my home because they don't have one in stock.

88cscb

Greasemonkey
Jan 2, 2013
PA
Kobalt is as bad. I got one of those new ratchet drives they were pushing at Xmas, I used it twice and it's broken.

DRIVEN

Geezer
Apr 25, 2009
*CENSORED*