Battery cable lugs: solder or crimp?

Bonnewagon

Lost in the Labyrinth
Supporting Member
Sep 18, 2009
Queens, NY
I need some new battery cables. Store cables are cheap and thin. I usually buy bulk lengths of marine grade tinned copper to make cables for outboard motors. I figured I would do the same for the Bonnewagon. The issue is that I read on electrical sites that crimping is the best way to attach the lugs. Normally I solder them. Every outboard cable I have seen was soldered. Some were even crimped AND soldered. I may do that. But why would crimping be better than soldering? That doesn't make sense. Solder would encapsulate every strand of wire. The soldered surface area of contact has to be better than crimping. I have a TEMco hammer crimper that I can use in a big vise or my 12 ton press so crimping is do-able. I am leaning to crimp-then solder.

awdblazer

Master Mechanic
Dec 12, 2013
crimp is by far superior
i am an electrician by trade and we crimp everything unless its electronics and that is soldiered

Reactions: 2 users

ELCAM

Royal Smart Person
Jun 19, 2021
If things go wrong in the right way a battery cable can carry enough current and get hot enough to melt the solder. I have seen the cheap lead terminals melted from a stuck starter solenoid and a seized engine.

Soldering after crimping is a good idea.

Reactions: 3 users

Built6spdMCSS

Geezer
Jun 15, 2012
Florida Beach
Crimp, then solder what you can see if you have any wire strands that are bare outside of the lug and the wire jacket. Then a little bit of heat shrink over it to cover it.

Reactions: 1 user

Bonnewagon

Lost in the Labyrinth
Supporting Member
Sep 18, 2009
Queens, NY
crimp is by far superior

Soldering after crimping is a good idea.

Crimp, then solder