Clutch fork?

Status
Not open for further replies.

moose

Greasemonkey
Jul 20, 2008
ICT, KS
Hi guys! New to the forum, just bought my '79 Monte a few months ago!!! I'm far from a mechanic and am having my uncle and cousin do some work for me since they're far more experienced.

Having them drop in a sbc 350 and swap out the auto for a Muncie they pulled from a '60 something Corvette, along with the bellhousing, clutch and fork that came with it. They think this combo will work just fine in my car. On the other hand I have read that g-bodies need the g-body clutch fork because of a certain bend it supposedly has, or the clutch will burn out in a few weeks. Lookin for a third opinion here so we can hopefully make it work right the first time! :)

85_SS

G-Body Guru
Nov 6, 2005
Ontario, Canada
This page lists the bellhousing/fork combos that will work in a g-body:
http://www.garage-scene.com/t5-into-ag- ... ousing.htm

...I believe the problem is interference with the floor more than anything. F-bodies mounted the trans on an angle for the same reason - this is what I am running with a hydraulic clutch linkage in my car.

Sep 1, 2006
Tampa Bay Area
What puzzles me looking at that site, is the apparent disparity in length of the pedal shafts from F to G body. Do the pedals sit at a comfortable position, or are they much higher in the dash than the stock G body stuff? They do not appear to be correctly positioned for heel-toe downshifts. I also wonder if anyone has tried the pedal assembly from a 4th gen F body in a G body, and how that worked out? I am starting to plan my 5 speed install and am trying to find the best/cheapest way to do it. I am also going with a hydraulic clutch, but will be researching other hydraulic setups as I have never had much luck with the plastic stuff GM used. I may try to use a Nissan cast iron set since in 295,000 miles of stop and go, I have never had a failure with my Frontier.

85_SS

G-Body Guru
Nov 6, 2005
Ontario, Canada