El Camino chassis, notched, boxed braced and re-welded

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ace Burt

Greasemonkey
Jul 23, 2017
Texas
I have been working on my pro touring el camino (Hell Camino) pretty seriously for several months now and finally got the chassis fabrication work finished last night. I have been learning at a steep rate for a couple months and thought I would share some pics and my experience with everyone. After owning some very high end German cars I decided to build my own American V8 powered hotrod for my next (and maybe last) fast car.

I started out wanting more room for tires and wheels and finally decided I wanted to do a frame notch to go with my Ford 9" set up and roll the fenders. I was trying to find out how much tire and wheel I could get with this set up and got some good feedback, but not everything I was looking for. Specifically I wanted to know what size tire in 18 or 20" I could run and what rim sizes (backspace, etc) I would need to use. I still don't know the wheel answers but I now know how to measure and get them once I get it back together.