New user, long time reader, finally getting my G body built.

Misfit-Malibu

Not-quite-so-new-guy
Aug 14, 2023
Hello fellow g body enthusiasts! I’m not new here by any means, I’ve been coming here to read g body stuff ever since I bought my 1980 Malibu in January ‘15 when I had just turned 16. Due to living with a busy single mom and having a lot going on I never got the chance too get my license and drive her a whole lot and in January ‘16 I became disabled and have been in a wheelchair ever since and the car sat because I didn’t have the heart to sell it, my grandmother whom passed away from cancer shortly after wrote me a check for Christmas and it was enough money to add what I had saved to get the car so I wasn’t letting her go. And I’m glad I didn’t because although I don’t have the money to build it out how I want it and that being a bucket list thing among getting to ride in it and taking it to car shows and race events, a good family friend of mine has offered to have it built at a shop and it’ll hopefully be a dream come true. I’ll post the build in the build thread because I have a few questions and I would like to share the process with fellow g body enthusiasts who would appreciate and enjoy the story and who may want to help however they can. I appreciate the community and wealth of knowledge here and I look forward to making new friends and learning more g body stuff. This picture is when I first got it.
Resized_Resized_CAM00816_951473635835946.jpeg

Reactions: 4 users

SS_Malibu

Royal Smart Person
Supporting Member
Sep 27, 2021
Mesa, AZ
Welcome to the GBodyForum!
They make hand controls that can be added to your car so you can control the accelerator and brakes. I knew a guy that could not use his legs and had those controls in his 455 "69 Firebird. As well as his newer daily driver.

Reactions: 1 user

Misfit-Malibu

Not-quite-so-new-guy
Aug 14, 2023
Welcome to the GBodyForum!