Security systems

john87442

Master Mechanic
Supporting Member
Mar 9, 2021
Geneva ohio
Just a thought as I was working on my project that after all this investment in the car I really haven’t thought about a good security system. I had a disconnect switch installed on it before under the dash but it just wasn’t what I’m thinking would be sufficient. So as usual I just wanted to reach out and see what anyone else was using or suggestions while I’m still in the process. Thanks

565bbchevy

Geezer
Aug 8, 2011
Michigan
In my Regal I have a master cut off switch mounted under the hood and I also have hood locks,

20190928_173359-1_resized.jpg

Reactions: 1 user

john87442

Master Mechanic
Supporting Member
Mar 9, 2021
Geneva ohio
Very nice detail! I was thinking about that also but if you go cruising and stop somewhere I didn’t want to have to get pop the hood all the time to shut it off. I’m not very tech oriented but was hoping someone in the group had or knew of a good way to integrate a system into a build.

ELCAM

Royal Smart Person
Jun 19, 2021
There are many options from basic to complex.

Simple relay driven disable for the ignition or starter using "hidden" switches to enable.

Use an RKE and make the trunk open an enable for ignition or starter.

There are expensive distributors that you can disable with your smartphone.

Low voltage home automation control boards that can be controlled by a smartphone.

Last but not least, aftermarket alarms.

Sweet_Johnny

Has A Face For Radio
Supporting Member
Oct 4, 2022
Wichita, Kansas
You can add the pellet style keyed ignition cylinder, and it can be wired as standalone (w/correct module) or in conjunction with an RKE, especially the GM factory units.

Kirban Performance has the "Touch And Start" where you utilize your body to complete a circuit allowing the car to start. You choose what/where the 2nd point of contact is.

Add "Jimmy Jammers" to your doors to block Slim Jims, and to prevent prying off the door handle.