Times are changin according to cost of G's locally

Status
Not open for further replies.

HAFROD

Royal Smart Person
Jul 15, 2013
Claremore, OKLAHOMA
I have been saying this for at least 15 years = I feel that G Bodys will be like 55-57 Chevy cars. At one point they were real cheap and easy to find, then they become expensive and rarely seen on the road. I remember in the late 90s, I had several G bodys in my yard. Some were parts cars and others were future builders. I remember buying an 86 Regal for $100 that did not run. It had a stopped up filter at the carb and the sock was deteriorated in the tank. Drove it for awhile after that. I bought an 87 turbo T in 1999 with a primered door and fender for $2500. My banker called me one day in about 1995 and asked me if I'd be interested in an 85 Regal Limited that his mom just wrecked for $500. It had 33,000 miles on it and had always been garaged. It still smelled new. The frame was bent so it got parted out. I put the 3.8V6 and trans in my 46 Plymouth business coupe. I turned down an 84 Hurst Olds because I wanted a black 83. I think it was $2000. When we moved from the country in 2001, I called the local salvage and they took 7 G bodys. Fast forward to now. I check craigslist daily and rarely see cheap G bodys. Hurst Olds are bringing as much as Buick Grand Nationals. Never thought I'd see that! Anyways, if you've found a dead G body sittin somewhere and you got the room to store it, I think the investment is there. Around here there are LOTS of dirt tracks. Most of the local G bodys have been ruined and rarely do I see any on the road.

CWPottenger

G-Body Guru
Oct 9, 2012
The other reason is that there are very few "modern" GM RWD platforms that can accept almost any power plant you want. That has always been a strong point for G-body and full frame allows for many suspension and rigidity upgrades

TheHomie

Not-quite-so-new-guy
Jul 24, 2015