Torque Converter Help

Status
Not open for further replies.

jacobdavis1979

G-Body Guru
Feb 18, 2011
Hey guys whats up? I'm about ready to drop in my 5.3 into my Bu and converter is really the only thing holding me up. Il try to make a long story short but Ive called around a few local shops, TCI, and B&M about recommending a few converters for my setup. The main things they wanted to know was compression ratio, cam duration, so on and so forth. My cam card said 300 advertised duration so i told them that and about 9.5 compression ratio give or take a few points and my trans th350 etc. Basically the answer i got was anywhere from 2700- 3100 flash stall speed so i know what to get. My problem is they really stressed to me for it to be a proper setup was to run a 3.55 to 4.10 rear gear which i don't have im still doomed to the stock 2.28 which i didn't really think about until one of them brought it up. And im no trans expert but if im pulling 1900 rpm at 60 on the highway in a non lock up trans with a 3000 converter wouldn't that generate a ton of heat and burn up my trans?? Im gonna change the rear gear when i can but is it safe to drive until then cuz i really don't know when i can change the gears. Should i run some big A** cooler??

Also this is the first time ive ever used anything but a stock converter so if there is anything i need to know any help is appreciated

lilbowtie

Comic Book Super Hero
Jan 7, 2006
Canton Mi
You need to take a look at what your final combo is going to be - a proper set up needs to have the carb, intake, heads, cam, converter, and rear end all working together. With 300 duration you must have a pretty healthy cam. I think I would be more worried trying to run that cam with a 2.28 rear.

jacobdavis1979

G-Body Guru
Feb 18, 2011
Well like I said the rear gear is temporary I just don't know for how long lol

DoubleV

Royal Smart Person
Feb 25, 2011
Medina Ohio
Yes get a good trans cooler.

jacobdavis1979

G-Body Guru
Feb 18, 2011