1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Now... not so Quick speedo cable question

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by STLRegal, Mar 19, 2017.

  1. STLRegal

    STLRegal G-Body Guru

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    619
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    St.Louis
    i need to replace my speedometer cable that broke during my swap. What kind do I need? The speedometer is the horizontal type. Transmission was a th200, now it's a th350.
     
  2. Longroof79

    Longroof79 Geezer

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    7,773
    Likes Received:
    1,292
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Gainesville, Fl
    Does the car have cruise control? If so, there should be two separate cables...one coming from the speedo to the transducer, and the other coming from the transducer to the transmission. It doesn't matter if it's a 200 metric or TH350.
     
  3. Texas82GP

    Texas82GP Comic Book Super Hero
    Silver

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,317
    Likes Received:
    1,913
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Spring, Texas
    Jack, only the early cars (pre 1984?) used the transducer.
     
  4. Longroof79

    Longroof79 Geezer

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    7,773
    Likes Received:
    1,292
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Gainesville, Fl
    Jared,
    you're absolutely right, my friend. My bad...:doh: He did not mention what year and type car he has.

    The next thing I would suggest is go to the Rock Auto site and see what's listed for your car.
     
  5. STLRegal

    STLRegal G-Body Guru

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    619
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    St.Louis
    No cruise control. Thanks for the info.
     
  6. Texas82GP

    Texas82GP Comic Book Super Hero
    Silver

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,317
    Likes Received:
    1,913
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Spring, Texas
    The length is the key. Measure the length of your original cable and then buy a new cable for your application. The length is the primary difference. Does your car have the cruise transducer mounted on the inner fender?
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  7. STLRegal

    STLRegal G-Body Guru

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    619
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    St.Louis
    87 Buick Regal.
     
  8. Texas82GP

    Texas82GP Comic Book Super Hero
    Silver

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,317
    Likes Received:
    1,913
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Spring, Texas
    I think I purchased a 100" cable for my car but haven't installed it yet. It was an educated guess on the length since my car had the fender mounted cruise transducer with two part cable setup but I'm changing to a one piece cable.
     
  9. mobileaudio25

    mobileaudio25 Master Mechanic

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    422
    Likes Received:
    124
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    columbus, ohio
    I purchased the 100in length cable for my speedo and it was too long. I had to loop it under the drivers floor board and it gave me a bouncy speedo. I swapped it out for the 80 inch speedo and it was a much better fit. $14 from Autozone and I lubed it with white lithium grease liquid wrench in a spray can. No cruise control here either. Th350 . I have the sweep style gauge.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. STLRegal

    STLRegal G-Body Guru

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    619
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    St.Louis
    Went to the parts store and picked up an 80in. The original is a 2 peice but this one seems to only be a 1 peice. I was thinking 100 would be too long.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
Loading...

Share This Page